Which terrain to build AeT? And some other questions.

• Creator
    Topic
    Sofia Wahaj
    Participant

Newbie here. Bought the 16 week mountaineering plan and read the book. Just figured out my AeT HR is 130 last week. So, started training in the transition phase at AeT this week and have some questions.

1) WHERE SHOULD I DO MOST OF MY AeT TRAINING? FLAT, MBT, OR MOUNTAINS?

FLAT: I live in Maple Valley, WA and am fortunate enough to have some choices of training terrains. I can access flat trails right outside my front door and that’s also easy for maintaining AeT bc I can keep my pace constant. But doesn’t seem it would be the best choice if my ultimate goal is mountaineering. If I do flat, I need to slow down the 2nd half of my run and keep my HR at 130, correct?

MTB: These are pretty close to my house as well. Mountain Bike Trails are relatively flat but some loops do a lot of up and down, but all have lots of rocks and roots and curves and my pace is much slower than flat running. Also, with the ups and downs it is much more difficult to maintain my HR constant. But perhaps learning this is good?

MOUNTAINS: A bit more of a drive for me (and so not ideal for more than once a week), but there are many mountains that are about 1000’/mile in steepness and range in mileage. If I were to try to do a 2 hour training session on a mountain, should I do HR 130 up the mountain and then also 130 HR DOWN the mountain as well for a total of 2 hours? Or should I do 130 HR up for 2 hours and then disregard my HR coming down bc I would have to run so fast downhill and that’s not easy on my joints?

2) Today, my average HR was 131 for 4.71 miles at a pace of 19:24. That seems RIDICULOUSLY slow, but I’m doing it right? Really? Just need some reassurance bc it feels WRONG.

3) When do I need to worry about figuring out my Anaerobic threshold? Don’t worry about it now?

Thanks!

• Participant
    Rachel on #20609