Weekly TSS load question

• Creator
    Topic
    rcj
    Participant

Hello all, I am pretty new to TP but it appears a lot of you use it. I know that this is all relative, but I’m curious what I should be working toward on a weekly TSS scale to prepare for Rainier. I am averaging in the 400-500 range now, with rest weeks built in. I feel pretty good about it, but talked to a buddy who doesn’t climb and averages around 700 each week. So, in general, what’s a good number to target to be ready for the summer climbing season?

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #18311

TSS scores, especially in our mountain sports can be very much like comparing apples to oranges.
    I strongly suggest you do not compare yourself to others. Many factors come into play: How long have you been training using TP? What is your fitness background to name just two.

Does your friend train for a conventional endurance sport like running or cycling? If so, TSS will be more easily calculated and quantified.

CTL is a better metric of work capacity but the model for calculating it is a backward looking non-linear weighted running average over the last 6 weeks. We have found that CTL is not very accurate until it has several months data to look back at. This is because when you start TP assumes you have a CTL of zero.

What we see is people who have sustained a high CTL for several weeks do better in big mountains. I once ran some numbers out there but people wanted to use these CTL levels as proxies for their preparedness for such and such climb. So, now I shy away from making too specific of recommendations. I can tell you that some of the top alpinists I coach sustain a CTL of over 130 for months on end before a major climb. Most of our amateur Everest and Denali climbers will top 100 for several weeks leading into their departure.