Very low Pa:Hr in heart rate drift test

• Creator
    Topic
    coreyl93
    Participant

Hi, I’m new to heart rate zone training and new to TrainingPeaks, so I want to make sure I’m not messing anything up.

For background, I’m a 27-year-old male, ran cross country and track competitively from age 11 to age 18 and was fairly fit towards the end of high school, logging 40-55 mile weeks throughout most of those last few years. Nothing special speed wise though, 5K PR of 16:50 on a cross country course, 8 mile tempo runs at 6:10-6:25/mi pace type of thing.

Over the past few years, I’ve tried to get into trail running more and more, was able to run a trail half marathon and a trail marathon in late 2018/early 2019 before struggling with Achilles/soleus tendonitis for a bit, likely due to my switch from heel striking to midfoot/forefoot striking.

With all that as context, I conducted my first heart rate drift test a couple days ago. After a 15 minute warm-up, I ran most of it on a track, keeping equal pace (~7:55/mi) and heart rate (low 150s bpm) for 45 minutes. My Pa:Hr ended up being 0.60%, which I think is too low, meaning I was running below my aerobic threshold.

My questions:
    * Am I correct that 0.60% is super low for Pa:Hr?
    * Do I need to re-take the test at a faster pace? If yes, what starting heart rate do you recommend I aim for? If not, what would be your best guess for my AeT?
    * While the pace was conversational (I took a phone call during it), I wasn’t able to limit my breathing through only my nose. Does this matter at all?
    * Anything you would recommend I do differently next time I take the test?

Thanks in advance!

Source activity if anyone is interested: http://tpks.ws/FTHWPGIQF4SJXTI4FEYTRMETSU

• Participant
    coreyl93 on #52733

Other info that might be helpful:
    * I used a Wahoo Tickr X chest strap for measure my heart rate.