Vertical training vs. flat

• Creator
    Topic
    DanM
    Participant

I recently started training for two races next year: a full marathon with about 3400 ft. of elevation gain, and a 50k with 8000-10000 ft. (which race it will be is TBD, since I’m not sure where I’ll be living next fall).

I live in Chicago right now, so naturally I have to get a bit creative when it comes to training for this; usually I get my vertical in using a treadmill with the incline cranked up or on the stair stepper at the gym. The thing I can’t quite figure out is how much of my aerobic volume should be focused on training uphill vs. just running on relatively flat terrain.

Also, does the actual size of the climbs during the race factor in to how much I want to do vertical training? Most climbs in the marathon are 300-600 feet, while in the 50k they’re as much as 2500 ft.

Posted In: Mountain Running

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #30344

Dan;

Effective training for mountain races with lots of vert needs to include a lot of vert. The demands of running/hiking up hill on variable gradients are quite different than those of flat running. I’d recommend using the guidelines in our book Training for the Uphill Athlete to design an effective plan to be sure you are including enough vert. The one thing you will not get on the machines is the specific strength building that cones from down hill running. If you can get in on day a week on actual stairs where you hike/run up and run down your quads will thank you on race day.

Scott

Inactive
    Anonymous on #30353

Also, those seem like very different events. The marathon with less gain would require less vertical in your training, and vice versa for the 50K. When will you know which race you’re doing?

Participant
    DanM on #30436

Thank you for the replies!