Training Peaks: Which "form" matters?

• Creator
    Topic
    tbrough197
    Participant

Hi Uphill Athletes,

I’m relatively new to the program and to Training Peaks in particular. In TP I see two different “form” scores, one on the Home Page and one on the Calendar Page. Which one matters to me? In case these images don’t attach, the home page score is -41 and the calendar page score is -24. With an understanding that dipping below -30 indicates risk of injury/OT etc, that -41 number is a little worrisome.

For context, I’m about two and a half weeks into Steve’s 5-week Foundation for Rock Alpinists Plan. I feel tired for sure, and definitely feel some wear on shins/knees/hips. I’m hesitant to back off training and feel like I could “push through” the fatigue I’ve built up, but I understand this could be inexperience and misguided enthusiasm. Is it too soon to put stock in these training peaks numbers?

Thanks all!

-Tim

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • Participant
    OwenFW on #38150

Yes, it is too soon.

The numbers on the calendar page are projections based on the planned TSS values in your scheduled workouts. The UA programs don’t have planned TSS values filled in, so the projected Fitness, Fatigue, and Form will all decline as you look forward in the calendar. If you wanted, you could go in and add planned TSS values (https://uphillathlete.com/trainingpeaks-metrics-ctl-tss/). The values on the Home page are your current values. However, all of it is based on the data TP has about your past workouts. Since you’re just starting, you don’t have 42 days of chronic training load (ie Fitness) history, so the numbers are pretty meaningless.

If you look at the settings for the Performance Management Chart on your Dashboard, you can enter an estimated beginning CTL (Fitness). That’s the critical number you’re missing, since the other two are shorter term but dependant on the CTL.