Training for the Cassin Ridge

• Creator
    Topic
    s.luedtke
    Participant

Hello Everyone,

My name is Seth and I have been planning a trip to Denali for over a year now. Our anticipated trip will take place around May 15, 2019 through June 15, 2019. We are a team of two and our objective is to acclimatize on the West Buttress, descend to the NE fork via the West Rib Cutoff, and then attempt the Cassin Ridge (unguided). We are trying to allow around 25 days on the glacier to maximize our chances.

My first exposure to Uphill Athlete was after reading TFTNA and then utilizing the training log when I completed Liberty Ridge on Rainier in 2016. Ever since then I have been trying to take a much more regimented and pragmatic approach to my training. Still, I am quite new to fully regimented fitness for climbing. Below I have tried to organize my thoughts into some basic questions, but I realize they might be slightly broad and general in nature.

Currently, I am planning on putting a year training plan together with use of the TFTNA log book. I’m debating on adding an extra week in case I get sick or work gets in the way so I don’t miss any training time and could repeat a missed week and not miss out on training time. I’m completely open to any and all suggestions with regard to how I should attack my training.

I have never completed a year long training plan before so any advice is welcome, especially if I’m completely off base or stupid about how I’m going about this!! That being said, onto the questions:

1. You reference a recommended CTL of 75 for climbing Denali. Would that recommendation stand for the Cassin Ridge or would that number need to be closer to 100? Would the length of time held at 75-100 be longer as well?