Stairmaster?

• Creator
    Topic
    Ptaylor
    Participant

I’m moving into the ME phase of my training and am wondering if using the stairmaster with a weighted pack will cut it. The problem is getting to a steep enough hill is a 40min (x2) drive. Even then it’s only about 450 ft vertical at about 23% grade.

I’m much more likely to get in the ME work on the stairmaster than getting up at 4am mid-week to allow for the drive. Should i just suck it up and drive or will the stairmaster be effective for the ME work?

Also, would it work to combine the ME work with long zone 1 work on the weekend (i.e., water carry up and easy hike down)?

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #4390

Ptaylor:

Stairmasters can be tricky to use for this sort of thing as the stairs fall way under you and you are not required to raise you body weigh upward. You will also need to adjust the machine’s perception of your weight to account for the pack weight. I’m no expert on stair machines but some are not motor driven and are powered by you the climber so require more work to turn them.

Understand the problems with terrain limitations though, and aside from making a completely unhelpful and snide comment about moving to place with hills the best I can recommend is to do the ME workout(s) on a real hill on the weekend (yes they could even be back to back if/when you come to that stage). Then do the aerobic base work and maintenance on the t-mill/stairmaster mid week.

I hope this helps.
    Scott

Participant
    Mariner_9 on #4395

Perhaps Dr. Doom could comment. In “Extreme Alpinism” he wrote, “Before climbing Alaska’s Mount Hunter, I did not train outdoors…I spent an hour a day, three days a week, “running” 4,000 vertical feet on the Stairmaster”.