Sleep features for monitoring cumulative stress in new Polar watch

• Creator
    Topic
    Michael
    Participant

I see that the new watch from Polar has features that seem like they automate the tracking of both cumulative training stress and recovery from that stress. I’m not aware of any other device that does this. Would this be particularly useful for someone who is aerobically deficient working on ramping up volume for base training? Both to prevent burnout and to ensure I train enough rather than being lazy with avoiding overtraining as a convenient excuse.

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2019/06/polars-199-ignite-gps-hands-on-everything-you-ever-wanted-to-know.html/amp

The article also mentions accurate heart rate in sprints and I’ve seen forum posts here mention concern about accuracy. Have optical sensors gotten better? Is Polar better than others for that?

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #24265

Michael:

I have no personal experience with this new Polar watch. I am dubious however that the predictions will be accurate. If you have not read this article you should. My guess is that Heart Rate variability is still the underlying measurement that they are using to determine recovery state. As for the wrist sensor: I’m dubious that it will be accurate enough. We’ve tested the most expensive watches from all the companies and NONE of them work well for wrist based HR. Maybe Polar has come up with a break through here but I doubt it. I would love it if this watch did the things they say. Maybe I’ll have to get one and try it. Until them I remain skeptical.

Scott

Participant
    Michael on #24336

How do you explain this graph then? https://media.dcrainmaker.com/images/2019/06/image-27.png

The only thing I really need is within 5 bpm or so to make sure I stay within zone 2. In fact, the at rest monitoring might be the most useful part since training seems to lead to an increase in resting heart rate even the following day.