Race Debrief

• Creator
    Topic
    Izzy
    Participant

Hey team,

I’ve been training for a 50k with 7.2k ft of climbing and as I haven’t raced in years I signed up for a 25k with 2.5k ft of climbing as a mini practice run.

My AET gets a few months ago was 158 and I’ve been trying to do the bulk of my training under AET with intentional Z3/4 sessions thrown in. I have a good 12+ year history of competitive swimming, long distance biking, alpine climbing, backcountry skiing, but this is my first time attempting to run for performance not just training.

For this race I was expecting to have to stay in or around AET but from the off I was operating above. I felt good the whole time and have attached my HR values and race stats. I took in a sip of water and two GU packets during the race, one immediately before. I was waiting to hit a wall but didn’t, instead feeling really good the whole time and I recovered quickly.

I’m looking for insight into what adaptations I may have to make for longer races or simply other things to pay attention to.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Posted In: Mountain Running

• Participant
    Izzy on #21190

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Inactive
    Anonymous on #21203

Izzy: