Planning for unknown target dates

• Creator
    Topic
    trygve.veslum
    Participant

Hi
    thanks to Steve and Scott for a great book – the Uphill Athlete. Have read through the entire book and I can’t believe Ive been training (I mean exercising) in such a wrong way for so many years. Think I need to check out the TftNA-book as well now.
    Now Im trying to set up a plan to gain fitness and climbing skills for the weeks ahead to get well physically prepared for the 2K-mountains here in Norway. As I normally do link-ups, a typical day is 1500-2500 vertical meters and 15-40km (10-25 miles). Sometimes a few short pitches of climbing and often scrambling. Most of the time I do 1 or 2 days summiting before going home (5hr drive), followed by 2-5 weeks before next trip.
    My problem is that its difficult to plan for and set a specific “Goal” day, since I go at weekends when the weather and family obligations allow for it. I normally know within a week if I can go or not. How do you guys advice me to plan when target date is undefined, and a chance for summiting suddenly “shows up” a few days in advance? Ie a robust plan for an unknown target date. And how much recovery do you reckon Id need for a full day or two in the mountains?

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,
    Trygve

Posted In: Alpinism

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #23653

Trygve:

Thanks for writing in with your questions. The best way to approach this sort of random schedule is to just focus on base training: High volume of low to moderate intensity training and some strength training (either in a gym or on a hill). The bigger your base of fitness in these two areas the better these weekend mountain trips will go. When you know 1 week in advance of something ‘big’ you can reduce the training load for that week or a few days to allow you to feel more fresh and less tired for that special day.