My AeT and AnT tests are weird

• Creator
    Topic
    lorenzo.riano
    Participant

Hi all,

A bit of my background: I’ve been running ultras for a few years and I’ve spent a long time doing long runs in and out the mountains. I have a good feeling about my running body, my pace and my effort levels.

Last week I’ve done the AeT test using the HR drift test. I’ve done the test according to protocol and on a track. I settled on a pace that was comfortably hard and went round and round for 1h after warmup. My average HR came up at 151 with a 7:57 pace and a decoupling of 1:55%. Great, these are numbers that by and large I expected.

Yesterday I did the AnT test by going as hard as I could around the same track for about 45 minutes. The result is a HR of 162 with a pace of 7:07. The pace was surprisingly high, and the HR was spot on what my Garmin Fenix says is my lactate threshold. I honestly thought the average HR for AnT would be higher, but whatever.

Now the weird thing: the Pa:Hr was 4.97%, that is within the number for Aerobic threshold!

There is no way that pace and HR is my AeT, it was too hard, I was breathing hard and would not have sustained for long.

So, how to interpret these results?

• Participant
    Jared Casper on #40842

The reply from Scott Semple in this thread: https://uphillathlete.com/forums/topic/heart-rate-drift-confusion/ might provide some insight.

Participant
    lorenzo.riano on #40865

Thanks Jared for the link! I see Scott’s point and it makes sense, but I’m not sure it applies to my test. Two years ago, during an all out half marathon, I have empirically measured my max HR to be around 178. So there’s plenty of room for the AnT test HR of 162 to grow.

In summary I think both the AeT (151) and AnT (162) are very close to reality, just based on my rate of perceived exertion, which is not perfect but not even out of whack given my experience.

My question then remains: why didn’t I observe cardiac drift during the AnT test?