Knee and Ankle Problems from Slow Runs

• Creator
    Topic
    jhughe22
    Participant

I started the 24 week mountaineering plan about a month ago and have been putting the hours in at AeT per the plan. It all started out feeling good, I was already in decent shape having just climbed Rainier and Shuksan a few weeks prior to starting. Pretty soon I started getting pain though in my left knee, foot, and ankle though on the long AeT runs. I am new to AeT training since I always used to just run 5-7 miles at whatever pace felt good (8min/mile or so) and going this slow has forced me to change my stride to the point my steps feel awkwardly short. I can’t help but assume these strange new pains I am getting are a result of this stutter step that comes with the unnaturally slow run pace. It got bad enough that my ankle started to swell and I am in the midst of taking a week off from running. Again, I am not new to exercise as I have been running for years and have run a marathon before.

Has anyone else experienced this? Should I be doing something else like power walking for my AeT to avoid the issue?

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #13170

Changing gait or stride dramatically, especially if you are forcing a run stride when you could walk at the same speed can very easily lead to the kinds of issues you’re referring to. I assume you’re running slower because you are trying improve your basic aerobic capacity. While this can be done running it can also be done hiking and even fast walking on the flats depending on your aerobic state.