kid sleeping bag

• Creator
    Topic
    richard.ferron
    Participant

Hello,

Wondering what sleeping bag to buy my 7 and 8 years old kids. I camp early spring to late automn and it can get below 0C (32F). I want my kids to be comfortable and they usually put more clothing layer when it gets colder. My questions are
    -kids sleeping bag or adult size?
    -Synthetic or down?
    -What temperature rating?

We do bike camping and multi day hikes so weight and packability are an issues as well as durability – I want my kids to use those for a long time!

My feeling is adult synthetic that goes around -6C / 12 F since I find this very versatile but am considering warmer…

What are you people using?

Thanks!!

• Participant
    allan.xperia on #14385

I have no experience on this, but I think you should be careful using the temperature ratings for adults.

My reasoning:
    Small people have a higher surface to weight ratio. If their heat production is proportional to their weight (which is just something I assume), they will also have a higher surface to heat production ratio, so they will need more insulation to keep their body temperature up.

Participant
    Jim Prager on #14405

A good friend of mine uses the Feathered Friends Vireo for his two kids (ages 4 and 6). While they are still young, he rolls the top down over the bottom so that it’s a double layer. This makes it a warmer bag and more kid-size. While this is potentially an expensive solution, he figures that the same bag will last them for 10-15 years. As they get older, they can use it more as it was intended: a single bag with a puffy jacket.

Hope that helps.

Participant
    Ptaylor on #14679

I use an 20 degree down bag from one of the big out retailers for my 7 year old. It has a 600 fill and seems plenty warm for what you are describing. We haven’t been down to 0c probably like 8c, but I am confident it would be fine for my son at 0c ish. Bag is a little more than 2 lbs and packs down well.