Just a curious guy

• Creator
    Topic
    Vertical Runner
    Participant

Hi,
    I recently bought the TFTNA ebook and I’ve been devouring all the information. Thank you!

I would like to ask a few questions that I’ve been thinking about.

-I was watching the XC men’s 50km mass start at the Winter Olympics on YouTube a few days ago where Iivo Niskanen won ahead of Bolshunov in 2:08:22. I was wondering at what percentage of max HR do these athletes do such a race and for what percentage of the race, approximately, do they rely mainly of fat as fuel? I guess they must have a very high aerobic threshold, so they must use fat up to a very high % of max HR?

I’ve been reading about maxVo2. I now understand that it is not a great predictor of performance as well as the reasons for such. I’ve also read some similar questions on the forum, however, I’d still like to ask:
    -I’m 21 years old, I’ve been training for 2 years and did a maxVo2 test a month ago. I got 70ml/kg/min. I personally think it’s a good value, but being that maxVo2 is a “first wave response”, is it likely that mine has already reached a plateau or is there still room for improvement?
    -Lastly, on my maxVo2 test a flat protocol was used. The treadmill was set at 2% and the speed increased every 3 minutes. For someone whose training is dedicated to vertical mountain races, wouldn’t a test with incremental increases in grade better alow my body to “express” its maximum rate of oxygen consumption as not only would it recruit more muscles but it would also be doing it the way they are specifically trained to?

Thank you very much for your book and time!

• Participant
    lionfish90 on #9098

I recently watched this talk by Scott Johnston posted on Facebook here:

[Direct link not working. Try this one after removing the spaces:
    https :// http://www.facebook.com/ uphillathlete/ videos/ 1207164636050638/
    ]