Is the Data From My Heart Rate Drift Test Usable?

• Creator
    Topic
    Alex
    Participant

Hello,

I’m a total noob and did the HR Drift test today. Wasn’t sure at what HR to start the test so I aimed at 150 (according to the MAF formula my AeT would be 148. I can nose breath all the way up in the low 160s, but when I hike I try to keep it under 150 because I’m pretty sure I have ADS).

Maintaining 150bpm proved to be quite difficult after the warm up and my HR dropped to ±137. In order bump it back up I’d have to run but because I’m kind of an aerobically deficient fatass and my mechanical efficiency is terrible I figured it’d be quite difficult to maintain 150 on flat ground so I settled for 137 at a fast walking pace.

Here’s the link to the test: http://tpks.ws/PZKGJQNITEFWRTI4FEYTRMETSU

Is it usable? Anything I can learn from it? Should I redo the test?

Thanks in advance!!

Posted In: Mountain Running

• Participant
    Shashi on #46507

Alex,

Welcome to the forum.

Based on what you said, I think you should redo the test at a lower target HR.

Maybe you can do an indoor AeT test on a treadmill. Here is the link to the article on UA about the indoor test –

Indoor DIY Guide to Determining Your Aerobic Threshold: Treadmill Test

Hope this is helpful.

Participant
    Rachel on #46511

I would also try to limit your HR to a narrower range during your test. I looked at an hour of your workout and the HR range was quite large (it went up to 163 bpm, much higher than the average HR overall).

When I test outside I try to keep it within a 5 beat range or so. I also am a sucky runner but I did my AeT test on a track. I would jog then walk as needed to keep my HR in the zone. It was a wake up call at how bad my running is…