Hill sprints and close to passing out

• Creator
    Topic
    Dada
    Participant

Hi guys,

Did the hill sprints again after a longer break from hill sprints. I’m a FT guy and did the following workout:

– gradual warmup 20min
    – 2x 3min Z3
    – 4 reps 8s all out on a 35° hill w/ 3 minutes rest between reps, 3 sets with 5min resting between sets
    – cool down

I almost passed out twice during the workout. Had to concentrate really, really hard to not faint. Is that normal, or is there something I should be worried about?

Best regards
    Dada

• Participant
    Moloch on #43930

This is not normal. Go see a doctor. Being tired and out of breath is normal. Stop working out so hard for now until you’ve seen a doctor.

Edit: This is personal advice. I am not a medical professional but I am a medical student, so take it with a grain of salt. Could be normal but only the doctor can tell you.

Inactive
    Anonymous on #43934

Hi Dada,

Generally speaking, I agree with Moloch – the workload you described and the way you executed it with appropriate rest intervals should not leave you near fainting, and it may be a concern about which to speak with a doctor.

Aside from that precaution, you may consider the following:

1. Nutrition/Hydration: Were you fueled well and hydrated before the session? Did you eat anything different than usual?

2. Heat/Climate: Many regions are experiencing very high temperatures right now. The immediate and significant demand of a hill sprint puts the sympathetic nervous system on alert, and if that is coupled with heat stress it could result in the symptoms you experienced.