Heart Rate for Uphill Weighted Muscular Endurance

• Creator
    Topic
    Felipe Q
    Participant

I am an amateur working through my Time Crunched Mountaineering Program. I have reached the Uphill Weighted ME workouts which I am just tackling now by doing laps of the fire stairs of a tall building with a weighted pack. After watching the example video of a long 60 degree climb with 40lbs of water in the pack at conversational pace (zone 1) I am finding it very difficult to replicate (at a lower incline with less weight) while staying at or below my AeT (likely an ADS problem), which is what I believe is the required exertion level.

I am starting with about 15% body weight in the pack and moving slowly, but I find to sustain a pace of about 1300 ft/hour, I need to be operating in the 80-95% of AnT range (zone 3). I can still nose breath at this pace and sustain it for the duration of the exercise, and I feel the burn in the legs which is the point of this training. I plan to do a lot of these workouts in the coming months in preparation for Rainier and I don’t want to 1) waste my training time or 2) damage my aerobic capacity.

As the focus of the time crunched plan is higher intensity generally and most training is measured against the AnT as opposed to the AeT for longer plans, is it OK to do these workouts at higher intensity (zone 3), should I slow down and drop pack weight (and leg burn)to stay below AeT (zone 1), or move off the stairs to an inclined treadmill to get the heartrate into zone 1? I have also leafed through the Weighted Hill Climbs page in TftNA looking for clarification. Thanks for any assistance.

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #13992