Confused About Zones vs Threshold in Training Peaks

• Creator
    Topic
    jafofana
    Participant

Hi all,

New beginner here. I completed the Heart Drift test in which my results were right at 5%. My AeT HR was 155. According to the program from Uphill Athlete, the top of my Zone 2 should be 155. The top of my Zone 1 should be 135. What should the bottom of my zones be? And what do I need to change Zone 3, 4, 5 etc to?

Furthermore, Training Peaks is asking for a threshold HR. Am I able to calculate this from the AeT (using the average HR ?) or do I need to do one of the tests suggested by TP?

All help appreciated as I’m getting started.

• Participant
    jafofana on #51305

Correction: top of Zone 1 should be 140.

Participant
    hawkinscary23 on #51307

If you login to Training Peaks on a computer rather than the Phone App you can actually set the HR zones manually rather than giving an input for the Threshold. That is what I have done for my TP anyways. Not 100% sure that it is the recommended way but it made sense to me to edit it to have the zones line up.

But you do need to do both your heart rate drift and AnT test to setup all of the zones correctly.

Participant
    Garret on #51314

Training Peaks and its metrics (like TSS and so on) are based on AnT (anerobic threshold). This is what it’s asking for.

So you’ll need to do an AnT test to find this and set it in Training Peaks.

You’ll also need your AnT if you’re using UA’s guidelines to determine if you should keep working on aerobic base or start to add in high intensity (the 10% test).

You can sill use training peaks without setting your AnT but the TSS scores and so on will not be accurate.