Classic Nordic Skiing

• Creator
    Topic
    tcruicks
    Participant

Hello All.

Thanks so much for all the great information here. I’ve been thinking about asking this question all summer and finally decided to go ahead and post it.

I am new to classic striding. My goal is marathon races and to primarily double pole the races but stride the steeper hills or long hills.

I am working on technique and realize that I need to spend as much time as possible working on technique in order to increase my efficiency. The main challenge is staying within my AeT by simply doing the motions. I dont want to shuffle along, rather I want to do proper technique but scaled down. I have yet to get to the point that I can stride with good technique below my Aet.

Any thoughts on this other than the obvious answer keep plugging away going as slowly as possible to stay with AeT?

Thanks!

-tyler

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #45394

Hi Tyler,

Great question – this really gets to the root of the how and why with aerobic training for technical sports. As you’ve observed, improving a somewhat inefficient technique demands spending some time above your ideal aerobic zone, because those muscles you’re employing to ski correctly aren’t well-trained yet so they have to work harder. There are many different ways to approach this challenge but I’ll lay out a few:

– Drills: Using technique drills are a great way to isolate a certain component of the movement without making a “global” demand on the body and thereby increasing the intensity. For classic skiing, no-poles work is really valuable here. More specifically, you can use a flat or slightly-downhill grade and practice driving the rear ski forward and then “pulling” your hips onto that ski as it passes forward and in front of you, effectively “catching a ride” on that ski. This mimics well the powerful leg drive for classic skiing. Alternate legs and work on balance.