Big Week and Weight Gain

• Creator
    Topic
    jobois
    Participant

Happy Holidays,

I am a 40-year-old woman and for my holiday break (I am a teacher) I have been putting in some decent days in the mtns. The days are back to back, decent elevation gain, good time on my feet, and winter hiking in the Whites of NH. It was a stressful fall and just wanted to get out and exhaust myself in a different way. (I have been playing and running in the mtns. for 20 years and have a solid base level of fitness with a number of ultra like events in my past.)

I managed to burn off the stress and am happily relaxed, but am curious- I stepped on the scale- I am up 8lbs from the start of vacation. This was not the indulgence of the holidays. No big parties, maybe a few more Xmas cookies, but nothing to warrant this swing. I did just have a physical; I have no underlying conditions that it picked up and am in good health overall. I am just curious if there are any insights to what is the reasoning behind this?

Thanks!

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #48684