Base Period: Max Length

• Creator
    Topic
    dbdmilton
    Participant

Hi guys,
    Question for the community!
    I’ve been climbing (Alpinism) for quite a few years now and never trained other than “doing more”. I got a copy of TFTNA the other year and have completely converted.
    Recently welcomed my first child into the world so there’ll be no trips to the Alps/Rockies this year (even if it wasnt for Covid 19). So I see it that I’ve got a massively extended base period to get me aerobic base/general fitness as high as possible.
    My question is…how long should someone stay in a Base period cycle before “de-loading” for a couple of months to allow the body to rest?
    I’m planning (Covid willing) on getting out to Canmore for some technical ice in early 2021 with a proper trip to the Alps probably July 2021.
    Thanks

Posted In: Alpinism

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #41568

Base training (below aerobic threshold) is always a “more is better” scenario, so it’s really limited by your life constraints.

Rather than a “deload” period, after the base period, I would plan for 6-8 weeks of higher intensity training followed by one or two easy recovery weeks before the trip.

Use TftNA to build the plan. You could expand the 24-week plan in equal proportions so that it fills 36, 40, etc weeks. Or you could do two shorter cycles between now and next spring.

Inactive
    Anonymous on #41569

dbdmilton,

Congrats on the new kiddo – while it can feel like a hindrance sometimes in how free time and objectives get limited, it’s pretty rad to watch them grow and start to enjoy joining you (even if just in a backpack) in the mountains!