Always Forward

• Creator
    Topic
    kmiess9
    Participant

Hi all,

I am very new to this website and this culture. My name is Kyle. I am a former firefighter/paramedic. I am currently active duty Navy. I was in the recon corpsman pipeline. I got injured going through BRC my first attempt 6 months ago. 2 weeks ago I got injured again. I was diagnosed with a concussion, rhabdo and acute kidney failure. I am in the recovery process now and struggling through the mental aspects of the concussion and disappointment. I am writing this because I want to move forward. It is still my goal to work within operational medicine, whether that be with the military, fire service or with the IC. With my goals still in mind I am looking to improve all aspects of my fitness, mentally, physically, and spiritually. I may try for the SOF community again or I may not, but I want to be ready. There is something that draws me to the idea of being an uphill athlete it seems I am always in an uphill battle. I think this is what also draws me to learning more about the mountaineering culture. I think the journey and process of what it takes to go up a mountain is more important than the summit. I want to make the mountains my home but I have no experience with them. I look forward to learning from you all. If there is anyone in the southern California area, I would love to meet and talk with you. If there is anyone in the military I would love to connect with you also. I am in the process of picking up the book: training for the new alpinism. But I do not have very many funds being an E3 and I spent it all trying to prepare for selection. So please forgive my ignorance until I pick up the book. If you read this far thank you for your time.

God Bless and very respectfully,

Kyle

• Participant
    TerryLui on #23700

Hi Kyle,
    Welcome and thank you for sharing! I believe you’ll find TftNA a worthwhile resource.