2 year Training Program for Denali

• Creator
    Topic
    jajtown
    Participant

Hi All,

I am currently (re-)reading TFTNA to put together a long-term 2-year training program for Denali; all the training programs I have seen on uphill athlete are relatively short at 24 weeks or less, and so I am thinking that I will break this goal down into two 52 week plans (using a 24 week plan culminating in a mountaineering objective) with a focus on building my aerobic base and muscular endurance with the goal of climbing and skiing Baker this year, Rainier next spring, and Denali the following year.

By way of background, I am a 39 year old splitboarder with 10 years of experience ski-touring (including several years living and riding/touring in Whistler and the Duffey Lake area north of Pemberton); until recently, I also worked as a mountain bike guide and have spent many years mountain biking around BC; prior to this, I spent some time in my teenage years and twenties rock and ice climbing, running, and backpacking. Having said that, I have never followed a training program for any length of time and therefore I would consider my fitness to be average/above-average for someone my age. I am now living in Vancouver and am essentially a weekend warrior touring 1-2 days a week 10km/1000m+.

Any insight or advice into this kind of extended training program would be appreciated.

Cheers!

Posted In: Ski Mountaineering

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #8687